Blue Bamboo

This is a yarn I recently spun up for a friend’s mother. I hand carded, spun and dyed this yarn. It contains merino wool and bamboo fiber.

Close up of finished yarn.
Close up of the finished yarn.

I took 85 grams of white merino wool and carded it with 17 grams of bamboo fiber that I dyed with turquoise Procion dye.

White merino wool carded with dyed bamboo.
White merino wool carded with dyed bamboo.

Then I spun it as a single on my wheel.

on the wheel
on the wheel

After that, I plied the single with a blue variegated commercial thread.

plied yarn on the wheel
plied yarn on the wheel
made into a skein
made into a skein

Once it was done spinning I dyed it with three blue shades of acid dyes.

finished yarn made up into a skein
finished yarn made up into a skein

Leave a comment