my attempt at rocking the 80s

I was born in the 80s, so I feel a bit of nostalgia when I think about crazy and clashing neon colors. This yarn was my attempt of capturing that clash and trying to make it work. I started out with the pink and green fibers that I dyed last week. They were superwash merino and tussah silk. I began by splitting the roving in half, so that I could make a two ply yarn, then spun each half on separate bobbins. I spun the roving in long stripes of color, but I did not have even amounts of each. I had about three times as much green as I did pink.

yarntastic19

Then I plied the two together for clashy greatness.

yarntastic20The result was approximately 170 yards of neon 80s inspired yarn weighing in just under three ounces.

yarntastic21 yarntastic22

Leave a comment